Oh, How the Mighty have Fallen

12 12 2006

So a lot of people have asked me why I haven’t posted anything about the latest gay evangelical pastor scandal.  Well, two people have asked my why I haven’t posted anything about the latest gay evangelical pastor scandal.  But nonetheless, here it goes:

Pastor Barnes resigned after admitting that he had had sexual relations with other men. 

Sure, it makes me laugh – not as much as Ted Haggard (to this day) makes me laugh – but I have to admit that I do get a chuckle from Barnes. 

It also makes me want to be cautious.  Cautious not to jump onto the ‘most evangelical pastors are gay’ bandwagon.  It is just as logical to now believe that most white men living in Colorado are gay pastors.

While exposing hypocrisy, or hypocrisy exposing itself, is always more fun than a barrel of monkeys – we must not allow recent developments to give us a sense of false confidence.

Despite the recent scandals, the evangelical right is still popular and is still a major threat to our basic civil liberties.  We can laugh and laugh at their foibles, but they are still a force that needs reckoning with.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

