Blogging Suicide

12 02 2008

90 Day Jane is a blog written by a woman who claims that at the end of 90 days she is going to kill herself.

I am going to kill myself in 90 days. What else should i say? This blog is not a cry for help or even to get attention. It’s simply a public record of my last 90 days in existence. I’m not depressed and nothing extremely horrible has lead me to this decision. But, does it really have to? I mean, as an atheist I feel life has no greater purpose. My generation has had no great depression, no great war and our biggest obstacle is beating Halo 3. So, if I feel like saying “game over”, why can’t I? Anyway, I hope you enjoy my thoughts as the clock runs out. Also, if blogspot takes this down before I’m gone just go to http://www.90dayjane.com. Please don’t attempt to “help” me. If you want to truly help, please send me ideas on how to do the deed. thx-Jane

I don’t know if this is legit, but it is fascinating nonetheless.  I’m not one of those people that thinks suicide is a sin (obviously).  Everyone dies sometime, some do it on their own terms.  My hope is that her blog just provides insight into the life of someone who decides not to let nature take its course. 

From this view it will be disappointing if she doesn’t end up going through with it (well, admitting that she doesn’t – if we never really know I doubt it will make a difference).  I’m sure there will be some people who will be perhaps more than disappointed if she does kill herself – but honestly, I’m not one of them. 

I hope that this proves to be a serious intellectual exercise, rather than a mundane cry for attention or a hoax.

UPDATE:  The link to Jane’s blog seems to work intermittently.  I wonder if Google is having second thoughts on publishing it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

