The Feminist Presidential Quandary

19 02 2008

This article from Boston.com got me thinking about feminist support for Hillary Clinton.  It seems I’ve heard a lot from feminists this primary season, both good and bad. 

 I’ve heard a lot explain why Mrs. Clinton would be the best candidate – and that I can respect, even though I may disagree.

I’ve also heard a lot of stories of women who are voting for Mrs. Clinton because she is a woman.

And that’s when I thought to myself: “Self, what the fuck?”

I’m a feminist if nothing else.  Well, okay, I’m a lot of things other than a feminist, but I am a feminist nonetheless.  It strikes me to be blatantly anti-feminist to support Hillary Clinton based solely on the fact that she is a woman.  I was under the impression that the idea behind feminism was to establish the equality of women – not their superiority.  Thus, it is great that for the first time a woman has a real chance at being the next president of the United States, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to blindly vote for her and not look at the other candidates.  If I thought she would be the best person for the job, I’d vote for her.  But just because I don’t happen to think she would be the best person for the job does not mean that somehow I’m sexist.

As equals, I shall make my decision on the candidates’ stances on the issues, on their ability to lead and to unite, and ignore their gender.  I don’t care about gender, skin color, or the like and my voting will reflect that. 

So I urge the feminists who have not already done so, to consider their other options, despite their gender.

There is also a good opinion piece about this issue here.

Actions

Information

One response

10 03 2008
cynematic

Thanks for the link! Glad you found my post insightful.

I’m also a little mystified by women who say they support Hillary because they want their daughters to see her run and win.

First of all, it’s not about you and having someone who looks like you in the White House.

Second of all, there are lots of really wonderful, truly progressive, capable legislators and politicians who are female and “on deck” for POTUS…like Kathleen Sebelius, govnernor of Kansas. There WILL be another woman candidate for president, and one who is much better than Clinton.

Leave a Reply

