The Miracle of Birth, the DNC, and Not Caring

21 08 2008

So I was listening to my favorite radio show today, Colorado Matters (the most inane, useless, and feckless waste of time ever produced) and heard something that pissed me off (more than Colorado Matters habitually does). 

The host was interviewing people who didn’t care about the DNC . . . ok, before I continue let’s take a moment to think about that . . . he’s interviewing people who don’t care about the DNC – and yes, it was just as boring as you would think.

But I digress;  One of the interviewees said that he had always been pro choice, but recently had a kid, and now has more doubts about that stance because he has seen what an amazing process birth is. 

Are you fucking kidding me?????  What the fuck does his good experience have to do with anything??  Evidently he and his partner weren’t 13 when they had this kid.  Or they weren’t homeless.  Or they weren’t crackheads.  Or they had health insurance.  Or they wanted and were able to have a child.

So next time your poor, crack-addicted, 13 year old neighbor gets pregnant – just remind her that it really is an amazing process.

Actions

Information

One response

23 08 2008
Melinda

Bravo! As a mother of two I know the full story of the “miraculous process”. But, it is a CHOICE to go through this process. I love my children and they know this but they also know it was my choice to have them. It was not a “miracle from god”. My husband and I had sex and I got pregnant. Bam! There’s your story. The next time some fat, white, male, religious fanatic decides to sit around and have a pow wow about what a woman can do with her body maybe they could try pushing something the size of a watermelon out of their body (the orifice of their choice) and then figure out how to feed, clothe, and shelter it for the next 20 years or so.

Leave a Reply

